Статус временной защиты (TPS)

Обзор

19 апреля 2022 года USCIS присвоил Украине временный защищенный статус (TPS), на который могут подать граждане Украины, прибывшие в США до 11 апреля 2022 года включительно и с тех пор проживавшие в США. Статус TPS дается по 19 октября 2023 г. Имея статус TPS, вы находитесь в США легально и имеете право получить разрешение на работу и отдать детей в школу. Вы также можете путешествовать за пределы страны с разрешения иммиграционной службы ("Advance Parole").

Вы имеете право подать заявку на TPS, если являетесь гражданином Украины, который прибыл в США 11 апреля 2022 года или ранее, с тех пор проживает в США и не имеет судимостей за тяжкие преступления. Люди, прибывшие в США по туристической визе, гуманитарному паролю или находящиеся в процессе ожидания убежища, могут подать заявление на получение статуса TPS.

Срок обработки заявки на TPS для украинцев - 6-8 месяцев.

Пока неизвестно, будет ли статус TPS продлен для Украины после 19 октября 2023 года. Исторически США продлевали такой статус для стран с долгосрочным гуманитарным кризисом. Если это сделают и для Украины, люди, получившие статус TPS, смогут продлить его на срок более 18 месяцев.

Вы можете подать заявку на TPS онлайн, или по почте. Если вы подаете также формы I-131 - Заявление на получение Advance Parole или I-912 - Запрос на освобождение от оплаты пошлины, вы не можете подать заявление онлайн и вам нужно подать его по почте.


Как подать заявление

Пошаговая инструкция как подать на TPS

Чтобы подать заявку на TPS, для каждого члена семьи, являющегося гражданином Украины:

Заполните заявление на получение TPS

Заполните форму I-821 – Application for Temporary Protected Status. Стоимость подачи этой формы – $50. Прибавьте $85 за снятие отпечатков пальцев (плата за детей младше 14 лет за снятие отпечатков не требуется).

  • Заполните разделы 1-3 и 7-11 (разделы 4-6 нужны только в случае запоздалой подачи и в данный момент не требуются).
  • Если вопрос к вам не относится, впишите “N/A”.
  • Если информация о посещенных ранее странах не умещается в пунктах 2-3 раздела 7, используйте последний лист или приложите дополнительные листы. Напишите сверху каждого приложенного листа имя заявителя, укажите секцию и пункт, к которому относится дополнительная информация, датируйте и подпишите лист.
  • Если вы ответили “ДА” на какие-то из вопросов раздела 7, приложите объяснение на дополнительных листах, а также сертифицированный перевод всех документов из полиции и суда, показывающих, что произошло. Если у вас этих документов больше нет, приложите подписанное объяснение причин.

Заполните заявление на получение разрешения на работу

Если заявителю нужно разрешение на работу, заполните также форму I-765 – Application for Employment Authorization Document. См. инструкции в разделе Документы Стоимость подачи этой формы – $410 (дети до 14 лет и пожилые люди старше 65 лет освобождаются от этой уплаты, если подают форму I-765 вместе с заявкой на статус TPS).

Заполните заявление на получение Advance Parole

Если заявитель хочет иметь возможность выезжать из США, будучи в статусе TPS, заполните также форму I-131 – Application for Travel Document для получения Advance Parole. Стоимость подачи этой формы – $575.

Заполните запрос об освобождении от оплаты

Если вы не можете позволить себе оплатить подачу форм и снятие отпечатков пальцев, приложите также форму I-912 – Request for Fee Waiver. Заполните одну форму на всю семью и положите ее сверху заявлений всех членов семьи. Если вы получаете государственную помощь в виде Medicaid, фудстемпов или денежной помощи, внесите эту информацию в форму I-912 и приложите доказательство (документ под названием "verification of benefits" из социальной службы). Если вы не получаете пособий, объясните подробно в секции Financial Hardship, почему вы не можете позволить себе уплату пошлины. Каждый член семьи, на которого вы просите fee waiver, должен подписать форму в части 7.

Приложите следующие документы:

  1. Копия украинского загранпаспорта (страницы с фотографией и страницы со штампом пограничной службы США, если есть);
  2. Копия формы I-94 (если вам дали ее в виде белой карточки на границе, приложите копию с обеих сторон);
  3. Две фотографии паспортного типа (если подаете заявление на право на работу);
  4. Сертифицированный перевод свидетельства о рождении ребенка (если подаете формы на ребенка младше 14 лет);
  5. Доказательство вашего проживания в США: договор аренды квартиры, счет за коммунальные услуги на ваше имя, письмо от социальной службы или DMV на ваш адрес, или любой другой официальный документ, показывающий, что вы проживаете в США. Если “официального” документа у вас пока нет, приложите письмо с объяснением и те документы, что есть: ваучер на бесплатное жилье, письмо друга или родственника, у которого вы остановились, переписку с хозяином квартиры, который пустил вас пожить.
  6. Чек или money order на совокупную пошлину за форму I-821 и биометрию, а также отдельные чеки с оплатой за формы I-765 и I-131 – если вы НЕ просите освобождение от оплаты по форме I-912. Чеки/money orders должны быть адресованы в “U.S. Department of Homeland Security”.

Если вы подаете документы по почте, отправьте их на следующий адрес:

Если вы живете в…

Alabama, Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Ohio

Посылайте на адрес…

USCIS Chicago Lockbox

Почтой USPS:
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
Attn: TPS Ukraine
P.O. Box 4464
Chicago, IL 60680-4464

Службами доставки FedEx, UPS или DHL:
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
Attn: TPS Ukraine (Box 4464)
131 S. Dearborn St., 3rd Floor
Chicago, IL 60603-5517

Если вы живете в…

California, New Jersey, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Посылайте на адрес…

USCIS Phoenix Lockbox

Почтой USPS:
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
Attn: TPS Ukraine
P.O. Box 24047
Phoenix, AZ 85074-4047

Службами доставки FedEx, UPS или DHL:
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
Attn: TPS Ukraine (Box 24047)
1820 E. Skyharbor Circle S
Suite 100
Phoenix, AZ 85034-4850

Если вы переехали с тех пор, как подали какие-то заявления в USCIS, поменяйте свой адрес при помощи формы AR-11 - Change of Address или вашего аккаунта в USCIS! Укажите номера (receipt number) всех ваших дел, которые рассматривает USCIS, в запросе на смену адреса. Иначе USCIS будет слать вам письма и документы на старый адрес!
Если вам нужна помощь адвоката в заполнении форм, свяжитесь с Lawyers for Good Government или иными организациями бесплатной юридической помощи.

Temporary Protected Status

Overview

On April 19, 2022, USCIS opened the Temporary Protected Status (TPS) program for Ukrainian nationals who arrived in the U.S. on or before April 11, 2022 and have resided in country since. The TPS status is given for 18 months, through October 19, 2023. With the TPS status, you will remain in the US legally and may apply for work authorization and enroll your children in school. You may also travel outside the U.S. with a permission of the immigration service (“Advance Parole”).

You are eligible to apply for TPS if you are a Ukrainian national who arrived in the U.S. on or before April 11, 2022, have lived in the U.S. since and do not have convictions for serious crimes. People who arrived in the U.S. on a tourist visa, humanitarian parole, or are in the process of seeking asylum can apply for TPS.

The timeframe for processing TPS applications for Ukraine is 6-8 months.

It is yet unknown whether the TPS designation for Ukraine will be extended beyond October 19, 2023. Historically, the U.S. has repeatedly extended such designation for some countries with ongoing humanitarian crises. If this happens for Ukraine, persons who have attained a TPS status will be able to extend it beyond 18 months.

You can apply for TPS online, or by mail. If you are submitting forms I-131 – Application for Travel Document or I-912 – Request for Fee Waiver, you may not be able to apply online and will have to apply by mail.


How to Apply

To apply for TPS, for each family member who arrived from Ukraine:

Fill our an application for TPS

Fill out form I-821 – Application for Temporary Protected Status. The filing fee for this form is $50. Add $85 for biometric services (children under 14 years old do not have to pay the biometric fee).

  • Complete sections 1-3 and 7-11 (sections 4-6 are required only for late filings and don’t apply at this time).
  • If a question does not apply to you, type “N/A.”
  • For items 2-3 in section 7, use the last sheet or attach additional sheets if the responses about the countries you visited don’t fit. Print the applicant’s name on top of each additional sheet, indicate what section and question it responds to, and sign and date it.
  • If you have answered YES to any eligibility question in Section 7, attach additional sheets with an explanation and a certified translation of all relevant police, court or other documents showing what happened. If you cannot attach official documents, provide a signed explanation of the reasons.

Fill out an application for work authorization

If the applicant needs permission to work and has not yet applied for employment authorization, fill out form I-765 – Application for Employment Authorization Document. See instructions in the Documents section. The filing fee for this form is $410 (children under 14 years old and seniors older than 65 are exempt from the filing fee if submitting I-765 together with a TPS application).

Fill out an application for Advance Parole

If the applicant wants to be able to travel outside the U.S. while on TPS, submit also form I-131 – Application for Travel Document to receive an Advance Parole. The filing fee for this form is $575.

Fill out a request for Fee Waiver

If you cannot afford to pay the fees for the forms and biometric services, attach also form I-912 – Request for Fee Waiver. Prepare one form for the entire family and submit on top of the applications for all family members for whom you are asking the fee waiver. If you are receiving welfare benefits, such as Medicaid, food stamps or cash aid, put that information in I-912 form and attach a proof (a document called “verification of benefits” from the welfare agency). If you do not receive welfare benefits, explain in great detail in the Financial Hardship section of the form why you cannot afford to pay the filing fee. Each family member for whom you are asking the fee waiver must sign the form in Part 7.

Attach the following documents

  1. A copy of the Ukrainian passport (page with the photograph and page with the stamp showing entry in the U.S., if any);
  2. A copy of I-94 (front and back, if you have a white card from the border);
  3. 2 passport-type photos (if applying for employment authorization via form I-765);
  4. Certified translation of the marriage certificate (if filing form I-912 for you and your spouse);
  5. Certified translation of the child’s birth certificate (if filing any form for a child below the age of 14 or filing form I-912 for a family that has a child above the age of 14);
  6. Proof of residence in the U.S.: a rental agreement, a utility bill in your name, the letter from a welfare agency or DMV showing your name and address or any other official documents showing that you currently live in the U.S. If you do not yet have any “official” documents, submit a letter explaining the situation and attach what you have: a free housing voucher, the letter from a friend or relative with whom you are staying or your correspondence with the landlord who allowed you to stay at their place;
  7. A check for the combined filing fee addressed to “United States Department of Homeland Security” – if you are NOT including a Request for Fee Waiver (form I-912).

If applying by mail, send all forms and supporting documents to the appropriate address:

If you live in…

Alabama, Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Ohio

Mail to…

USCIS Chicago Lockbox

USPS:
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
Attn: TPS Ukraine
P.O. Box 4464
Chicago, IL 60680-4464

FedEx, UPS или DHL:
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
Attn: TPS Ukraine (Box 4464)
131 S. Dearborn St., 3rd Floor
Chicago, IL 60603-5517

If you live in…

California, New Jersey, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Mail to..

USCIS Phoenix Lockbox

USPS
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
Attn: TPS Ukraine
P.O. Box 24047
Phoenix, AZ 85074-4047

FedEx, UPS или DHL:
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
Attn: TPS Ukraine (Box 24047)
1820 E. Skyharbor Circle S
Suite 100
Phoenix, AZ 85034-4850

If you have moved since you filed any applications with USCIS, change your address via form AR-11 – Change of Address or your USCIS online account! Include the receipt number for any pending cases with USCIS with your address change request. Otherwise USCIS will mail all correspondence and documents to your old address!
If you need the help of an attorney in filling out the forms, contact Lawyers for Good Government or another Legal Aid organization.